GConnect is now available on Google Play Store. Download now!!
Translate this page:
Note: This is machine translation and therefore may not be very accurate.

State Government Holidays 2020 for offices in Tamil Nadu

Public Holidays for the state government offices and all commercial banks including co-operative banks in Tamil Nadu for the year 2020

Government of Tamil Nadu

Public (Miscellaneous) Department

G.O.Ms.No.762, Dated the 22nd October 2019

Holidays – Public Holidays under Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881 for the State Government Offices and all Commercial Banks including Co-operative banks in Tamil Nadu for the year 2020 – Orders Issued.


  1. G.O.Ms.No.840, Public (Misc) Department, dated 29.10.2018.
  2. Reserve Bank of India letter reference No. HRMD (Che)/331/03.02.091/2019-20, dated: 30.07.2019.


The Government of Tamil Nadu pass the following orders in regard to the observance of Holidays in the State of Tamil Nadu for the year 2020:-

(i) Public Holidays: The Holidays declared under the Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881 (Central Act XXVI of 1881) indicated in the notification appended to this order will be published in the Tamil Nadu Government Gazette.

(ii) Government Holidays: The Government direct that all the offices under the control of the Government of Tamil Nadu be closed on:-

(a) The dates specified in the notification appended to this order (except Annual Closing of Bank Accounts on 01.04.2020)

(b) All Saturdays and Sundays in the year 2020.

2. The above notified Public Holidays shall also apply to all State Government Undertakings / Corporations / Boards, etc.





Under the “Explanation” to section 25 of the Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881 (Central Act XXVI of 1881) read with Notification of the Government of India, Ministry of Home Affairs: No.20-25-26, Public-1, dated the 8th June 1957, the Government of Tamil Nadu hereby declares that, in addition to “Sundays” expressly defined as Public Holidays in the said “Explanation”, the following days shall be Public Holidays for the year 2020.


Sl.No Public Holidays Date Day
1. New Year’s Day 01.01.2020 Wednesday
2. Pongal 15.01.2020 Wednesday
3. Thiruvalluvar Day 16.01.2020 Thursday
4. Uzhavar Thirunal 17.01.2020 Friday
5. Republic Day 26.01.2020 Sunday
6. Telugu New Year’s Day 25.03.2020 Wednesday
7. *Annual closing of Accounts for Commercial Banks & Co-operative Banks 01.04.2020 Wednesday
8. Mahaveer Jayanthi 06.04.2020 Monday
9. Good Friday 10.04.2020 Friday
10. Tamil New Year’s Day and Dr. Ambedkar Birthday 14.04.2020 Tuesday
11. May Day 01.05.2020 Friday
12. Ramzan (Idu’l   Fitr) 25.05.2020 Monday
13. Bakrld 01.08.2020 Saturday
14. Krishna Jayanthi 11.08.2020 Tuesday
15. Independence Day 15.08.2020 Saturday
16. Vinayakar Chathurthi 22.08.2020 Saturday
17. Muharram 30.08.2020 Sunday
18. Gandhi Jayanthi 02.10.2020 Friday
19. Ayutha Pooja 25.10.2020 Sunday
20. Vijaya Dasami 26.10.2020 Monday
21. Milad-un-Nabi 30.10.2020 Friday
22. Deepavali 14.11.2020 Saturday
23. Christmas 25.12.2020 Friday


* Applicable only to Commercial Banks and Co-operative Banks in Tamil Nadu.

Read / Download State Government Holidays 2020 for offices in Tamil Nadu

You might also like