Central Government Holidays 2020 – Andhra Pradesh and Telangana Offices

Tamil Nadu State Government Public Holiday List 2021

List of Closed and Restricted Holidays during the year 2020 for Administrative offices of Central government located in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana – CGEWCC 

Central Government Employees Welfare Coordination Committee
& Regional Sports Board, Hyderabad.
Ph: 040 – 23425482, 040 – 23236778

10th floor, A Block, Income Tax Towers
AC Guards Hyderabad.


The meeting of Central Government Employees Welfare Co-ordination Committee, Hyderabad was held on 10.10.2019 in the office of the Principal Chief Commissioner of Income Tax, Andhra Pradesh & Telangana in the conference hall at 10-A, Income Tax Towers, AC Guards, Masab Tank, Hyderabad. The following Members were present at the meeting :

Sl. No. Name
Designation Representing From Membership


M MOHAN BABU, IRS Dy. CIT (HQ) (Admn) Income Tax Dept Secretary
2 MANAS RANJAN BEHERA ITO(HQ) (Welfare) Income Tax Dept Addl Secretary
3 KAVYANJALI DUBEY Dy. Commandant CISF (NISA) Member
4 S SREENIVSA RAO Assistant Dept of Atomic Energy Member
5 P PREMKUMAR Welfare Assistant PAG Office Member
6 M NATARAJAN Senior Technical Officer CNA (DP) / Navy Member
7 D SHANKAR BABU Civil Technical Officer CNA (DP) / Navy Member
8 N.S. MUKUNDA RAO Auditor PAG Office Member


The meeting began at 4.00 PM with the welcome words by the co-ordinator of the meeting Sri. MANAS RANJAN BEHERA, TO (HQ)(Welfare), Hyderabad after a brief registration process. The items of agenda for the meeting were as under:

(i) Finalisation of Holidays to be observed in 2020 in AP & TS

(ii) Any other issue with the permission of Chair.

2. Welcoming the gathering, the Secretary Sri M MOHAN BABU, IRS, Dy. Commissioner of Income-tax(HQrs)(Admn, Hyderabad has given a brief to all the members with regard to selection of holidays from the prescribed list. He requested all the members to take a decision according to the majority of members opinion. Members have welcomed the decision of the Secretary.

3. The Department of Personnel and Training; Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievance and Pensions, Government of India, has issued a Memorandum in F. No.12/1/2019-JCA-2 dated 18.06.2019 declaring 14 holidays as compulsory closed holidays to be observed in 2020 and three holidays that could be chosen out of a list of holidays given separately under para 3.1 of the letter. The members present, alter having discussions, had decided the following three holidays to be observed as compulsory closed holidays in 2020 in addition to the 14 declared by the DoPT:

(i) Makar Sankranti – 15th January, 2020 (Wednesday).

(ii) Maha Shivaratri – 21st February,2020 (Friday).

(iii) Holi – 10th March, 2020 (Tuesday).

4. It is also decided to add Two festivals specific to the states of Andhra Pradesh & Telangana to be added to the list of Restricted Holidays in view of the local importance of the festivals i.e.,

(i) Pongal / Kanuma – 15th January, 2020 (Thursday)

(ii) Bathukamma /Dussehra (Maha Saptami) – 23rd October, 2020 (Friday)

5. In case of any alteration of the above mentioned restricted holidays by the State Government of AP or TS, such alteration would be considered by the Chairman, CGEWCC. Further the committee decided that the festivals remaining alter determining three compulsory holidays mentioned at para 3.2 of DOPT’s letter should be added to the list of restricted holidays.

6. The final list of closed holidays to be observed in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana during the calendar year 2020 is given as Annexure I. List of Restricted holidays to be observed is given as Annexure II.

7. Finally, Sri MANAS RANJAN BEHERA, Additional Secretary, CGEWCC, made his remarks and concluded the meeting. The coordinator informed that all future communications / circulars in respect of CGEWCC/RSB would be updated on www.incometaxhyderabad.gov.in. All the members / representatives of various departments present at the meeting accepted for paperless communication. It was also requested that all the HODs may send their email addresses.

Pr. Chief Commissioner of Income Tax, AP & TS &
Chairman, CGEWCC

Hyderabad, Date: 10.10.2019



S.No. Holiday Date Saka Date Day
SAKA ERA 1941 
1 Makar Sankranti January 15 Pausha 25 Wednesday
2 Republic Day January 26 Magha 06 Sunday
3 Maha Shivaratri February 21 Phalguna 02 Friday
4 Holi March 10 Phalguna 20 Tuesday
5 Mahavir Jayanti April 06 Chaitra 17 Monday
6 Good Friday April 10 Chaitra 21 Friday
7 Budha Purnima May 07 Vaisakha 17 Thursday
8 Id-ul-Fitr May 25 Jyaishtha 04 Monday
9 Id-ul-Zuha (Bakrid) August 01 Sarvana 10 Saturday
10 Independence Day August 15 Sarvana 24 Saturday
11 Muharram August 30 Bhadra 08 Sunday
12 Mahatma Gandhi’s Birthday October 02 Asvina 10 Friday
13 Dussehra October 25 Kartika 03 Sunday
14 Milad-un-Nabi or Id-e-Milad (Birthday of Prophet Mohammad) October 30 Kartika 08 Friday
15 Diwali (Deepavali) November 14 Kartika 23 Saturday
16 Guru Nanak’s Birthday November 30 Agrahayana 09 Monday
17 Christmas Day December 25 Pausha 04 Friday




S.No. Holiday Date Saka Date Day
SAKA ERA 1941 
1 New Year’s Day January 01 Pausha 11 Wednesday
2 Guru Gobind Singh’s Birthday January 02 Pausha 12 Thursday
3 Lohri January 13 Pausha 23 Monday
4 Kanuma / Pongal January 16 Pausha 26 Thursday
5 Basant Panchami/ Sri Panchami January 30 Magha 10 Thursday
6 Guru Ravi Das’s Birthday February 09 Magha 20 Sunday
7 Swami Dayananda Saraswati Jayanti February 18 Magha 29 Tuesday
8 Shivaji Jayanti February 19 Magha 30 Wednesday
9 Maha Shivaratri February 21 Phalguna 02 Friday
10 Holika Dahan/ Dolyatra March 09 Phalguna 19 Monday
11 Hazarat Ali’s Birthday March 09 Phalguna 19 Monday
12 Chaitra Sukladi / Gudi Padava/ Ugadi / Cheti Chand March 25 Chaitra 05 Wednesday
13 Ram Navami April 02 Chaitra 13 Thursday
14 Easter Sunday April 12 Chaitra 23 Sunday
15 Vaisakhi/ Vishu April 13 Chaitra 24 Monday
16 Mesadi/ Vaisakhadi (Bengal) / Bahag Bihu (Assam) April 14 Chaitra 25 Tuesday
17 Guru Rabindranath’s Birthday May 08 Vaisakha 18 Friday
18 Jamat Ul-Vida May 22 Jyaishtha 01 Friday
19 Rath Yatra June 23 Ashadha 02 Tuesday
20 Raksha Bandhan August 03 Sarvana 12 Monday
21 Janmashtami (Smarta) August 11 Sarvana 20 Tuesday
22 Janmashtami August 12 Sarvana 21 Wednesday
23 Parsi New Year’s day/ Nauraj August 16 Sravana 25 Sunday
24 Vinayaka Chaturthi/ Ganesh Chaturthi August 22 Sravana 31 Saturday
25 Onam or Thiru Onam Day August 31 Bhadra 09 Monday
26 Dussehra (Maha Saptami) (Additional) October 23 Kartika 01 Friday
27 Dussehra (Maha Ashtami) (Maha Navmi)(Additional) October 24 Kartika 02 Saturday
28 Vijay Dashmi (Bengal, Kerala) October 26 Kartika 04 Monday
29 Maharishi Valmiki’s Birthday October 31 Kartika 09 Saturday
30 Karaka Chaturthi (Karwa Chouth) November 04 Kartika 13 Wednesday
31 Govardhan Puja November 15 Kartika 24 Sunday
32 Bhai Duj November 16 Kartika 25 Monday
33 Pratihar Shashthi or Surya Shashthi (Chhath Puja) November 20 Kartika 29 Friday
34 Guru Teg Bahadur’s Martyrdom Day November 24 Agrahayana 03 Tuesday
35 Christmas Eve December 24 Pausha 03 Thursday


Read / Download Central Government Holidays 2020 – Andhra Pradesh and Telangana Offices

Also check the following links related to this topic:

Central Government Holidays 2020 -Kolkata offices

Central Government Holidays 2020 – Chennai Offices Closed and Restricted Holidays

Central Government Holidays in the year 2020 – Public / Closed holidays and Restricted Holidays