GConnect is now available on Google Play Store. Download now!!
Translate this page:
Note: This is machine translation and therefore may not be very accurate.

State Government Holidays 2020 For Offices In West Bengal

Public Holidays for Government Offices in West Bengal during the year 2020

GOVERNMENT OF WEST BENGAL
Finance (Audit) Department
NABANNA
325, Sarat Chatterjee Road, Howrah – 711102.

No. 5962 – F(P2)

Dated, the 1st November, 2019

NOTIFICATION

In exercise of the power conferred by the explanation to Section 25 of the Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881 (XXVI of 1881) read with Government of India, Ministry of Home Affairs, Notification No. 20/25/56-pub(l) dated 8th June, 1957, the Governor is pleased to declare the following days to be public holidays during the year, 2020 :-

Sl.No Festival/Occasion Gregorian Calender 2020 Days of the Week
1. Netaji’s Birthday 23rd January Thursday
2. Saraswati Puja (Shree Panchami) 30th January Thursday
3. Doljatra 9th March Monday
4. Good Friday 10th April Friday
5. Bengali New Year’s Day / Birthday of Dr. B. R. Ambedkar 14th April Tuesday
6. May Day 1st May Friday
7. Buddha Purnima 7th May Thursday
8. Birthday of Rabindra Nath Tagore 8th May Friday
9. ld-UI-Fitar 25th May Monday
10. ** Id-Uz-Zuha (Bakrld) 1st August Saturday
11. ** Independence Day 15th August Saturday
12. Mahalaya 17th September Thursday
13. Mahatma Gandhi’s Birthday 2nd October Friday
14. Durga Puja – Saptami 23th  October Friday
15. ** Durga Puja – Astami 24th October Saturday
16. Durga Puja – Vijaya Dasami 26th October Monday
17. Lakshmi Puja 30th October Friday
18. ** Kali Puja 14th November Saturday
19. Birthday of Guru Nanak 30th November Monday
20. Christmas Day 25th December Friday

 

Note:

1. Sundays are holidays under the Negotiable Instruments Act (N. I. Act).

2. In the year, 2020, the following festivals / occasions fall on Sunday which are public holidays under the N. I. Act and hence, have not been included in the list of holidays:

i) Birthday of Swami Vivekananda : 12th January, Sunday

ii) Republic Day : 26th January, Sunday

iii) Muharram : 30th August, Sunday

iv) Durga Puja – Nabami : 25th October, Sunday

3. The holidays with double asterisk mark [ie., (**)] are applicable to those Government offices only where Saturdays are not observed as full holiday.

4. General Instructions as laid down in the Notification No. 5965-F{P2} dated 01.11.2019
hereinafter are to be followed in case of Muslim festivals.

No. 5963 – F(P2)

Dated, the 1st November, 2019

In exercise of the power conferred by the explanation to Section 25 of the Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881 (XXVI of 1881) read with Government of India, Ministry of Home Affairs, Notification No. 20/25/56-pub(l) dated 8th June, 1957, the Governor is pleased to declare the following day to be public holiday during the year, 2020 :-

Yearly closing of Bank Accounts : 1st April, Wednesday

{All State Government offices including Treasuries shall remain open on that date}.

No. 5964 – F(P2)

Dated, the 1st November, 2019

The Governor is pleased to notify that on the following days during the year, 2020, which are not declared to be public holidays, the offices under the Government of West Bengal with the exception of the offices of the Registrar of Assurances, Kolkata, the Collector of Stamp Revenue, Kolkata and the West Bengal State Beverages Corporation Ltd. shall be closed :-

New Year’s Day : 1st January, Wednesday
Additional day in connection with Saraswati Puja : 31st January, Friday
Shivaratri : 21st February, Friday
Holi (Day after Doljatra) :  10th March, Tuesday
Additional day in connection with ld-Ul-Fitar : 26th May, Tuesday
Birthday of Poet Bhanu Bhakt : 13th July, Monday
(For Darjeeling & Kalimpong district only)

Janmastami : 11th August, Tuesday
Tritia of Durga Puja : 19th October, Monday
Chaturthi of Durga Puja : 20th October, Tuesday

Panchami of Durga Puja : 21st October, Wednesday

Mahasasthi of Durga Puja : 22nd October, Thursday
Additional days in connection with Durga Puja : 27th, 28th & 29th October, (Tuesday, Wednesday & Thursday)

Fateha-Dwaz-Daham : 30th October, Friday
Bhatridwitya : 16th November, Monday
Additional day in connection with Bhatridwitya : 17th November, Tuesday
Day before Chhat Puja : 19th November, Thursday
Chhat Puja : 20th November, Friday

No. 5965 – F(P2)                                                               

Dated, the 1st November, 2019

The Governor is pleased to declare that the following days may be observed as Sectional holidays in the year, 2020 for the employees of different communities mentioned against each:-

Mahabir Jayanti : 6th April, Monday (For Jains only)
Sab-e-Barat : 9th April, Thursday (For Muslims only)
* * Easter Saturday : 11th April, Saturday (For Christians only)

Baisakhi : 14th April, Tuesday (For Sikhs only)
Hul Diwas : 30th June, Tuesday [For Adivasi (Santa I) only]
Karam Puja : To be notified later on.

Note:

The holiday with double asterisk mark [i.e., (**)] is applicable to those Government offices only where Saturdays are not observed as full holiday.

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS TO BE FOLLOWED IN ALL TYPES OF HOLIDAYS INCLUDING HOLIDAYS FOR THE MUSLIM FESTIVALS

1) No substitute holiday(s) shall be allowed for any initially notified holiday(s), if any of the festivals subsequently happens to fall on a weekly off day / any other non working day or in the event of more than one festival/occasion falling on the same day.

2) If there is any change in the date of the festivals / occasions, viz., Id-UI-Fitar, Id-Ud-Zoha (Bakrid), Muharram, Fateha-Dwaz-Daham and Sab-e-Barat, depending upon the sighting of the moon, holiday will be declared by separate order for the date on which the festival would be actually observed in lieu of the date originally notified as holiday for these festivals / occasions.

3) It may happen that the change of date of the above festivals / occasions has to be notified at a very short notice. In such a situation, announcement would be made through TV / A.I.R / Newspapers and the Heads of Department / Offices of the State Government may take action according to such announcements without waiting for formal order regarding the change of date.

By order of the Governor,

Sd/- D. K. Mahapatra

OSD & E.O. Special Secretary
to the Government of West Bengal

Read / Download State Government Holidays 2020 For Offices In West Bengal

You might also like
Comments
Loading...