Transfer Policy for Railway Officers

Railway Board announces Comprehensive transfer Policy for Railway Officers.

Ministry of Railways has announced the Comprehensive Transfer Policy superseding the earlier announcements.





New  Delhi,  dated  31 .08.2015


General  Managers

All Indian  Railways/Production Units

(As per  Standard   List)



1.           The  transfer  policy  for  Railway  Officers  has  been  reviewed  by  the  Ministry  of Railways.    In  super-session   of  all  existing instructions, Ministry  of  Railways  have  now decided to formulate  a· Comprehensive· Transfer  Policy  for Railway  Officers.   The  salient features of the Comprehensive  Transfer Policy are given in the succeeding paragraphs:

(i)        Ordinarily  a Group  ‘A’  officer will not be transferred  out of his allotted
Zone/Unit till Selection Grade.

On  empanelment   to  Group  ‘A’,   there  may  be  inter-Zonal  transfer  of  a
Group ‘B’  officer with residual service of more than 3 years.

(ii)       Officers,   will   be   considered   for   posting   to   Railway   Board/RDSO/ CTIs/PUs/Other Units in administrative interest after completion of minimum of 5 years in allotted zone.

(iii)      No  request  for  transfer  will  be  considered  till  completion  of  5  years  in assigned zone.

(iv)      Transfers  and postings  will be done against clear vacancy  of a sanctioned post.   The present  policy of posting officers to the Eastern Region on return from deputation abroad will continue to be followed.

(v)       Posting   in   Railway   Board/CTI/RDSO/RRB  is  tenure   posting   having maximum  tenure  of 5  years and not a deputation post.   Hence, normal procedure for inter Railway/Unit transfers be followed.

(vi)      A cooling off period of minimum 3  years between two tenures  in Railway Board/RDSO will be required.

(vii)     Normally, minimum tenure on a particular post at a time will be 2 years and maximum  tenure  will be 5  years.  For sensitive  posts, maximum  tenure  will be 4 years. Minimum tenure will not be applicable for Junior Scale/Senior  Scale officers of Group A.   However, in administrative exigencies, relaxation may be granted by cadre controlling officer.

(viii)    Total  stay at a stretch  at a particular  station  should not be more than  10 years  and the total cumulative  stay (in broken spells) should not be more than  15 years.      Deputation  to  PSUs  and  other  Ministries  will  not  be  counted  for  this purpose.  This will be implemented in a phased manner.

(ix)       In   case   of   IRMS    doctors    (including    Dental    Cadre)    in   Railways,     the proposed   policy  will  be as per  following  guidelines   :-

(a)         The   transfer    of  doctors   within   and   outside    the   zone   should   be decided   by  the  Railways/Board at  appropriate level  on  case-to-case basis, keeping in    view     the  administrative        interest.          Total     stay     at    a stretch/ cumulative     stay(in-broken-spells-in a particular   station)  be limited  to 15&20  years  respectively.     However,    while  issuing   such  transfer   orders   the following   guidelines     should  be observed.

(1)         Super   specialist    doctors   can   only    be  transferred    from   one   super speciality   centre  to another  super  speciality   center  of same  specialities.

(2)        Senior  specialist   of Central  Hospital    of the  Zone  or Division   should be transferred   to another  Divisional   or Zonal  Centre  of equal  status.    ·

(3)        General  Duty  Medical  Officers  and Dental  Surgeon  can  be  shifted from  one such  post  to equivalent   post  in other places.

Note  :    The  idea behind   these  guidelines   is  that  specialist   services   are not disturbed while  keeping  the administrative interest  in  mind.

(x)        Transfer    of   RPF/RPSF     personnel    will   be   in   terms     of  Railway   Board Standing   Order  No.102   and  110  issued  by  DG/RPF.     Total   stay  at  a  stretch  at  a particular   station  should  not  be more  than  10  years  and the total  cumulative   stay (in broken  spells)  should  not be more  than  15  years.

(xi)       In terms  of para   124 of  IREC,   Vol.I,   GMs  have  full  powers  to make  rules with   regard    to   non-gazetted     Railway    Servants.     No   change    is  recommended. Maximum    tenure   on  sensitive   posts   will   however   be  4  years.   In  case   of  non gazetted   Railway   employees,    no  inter  railway   transfer   request   will  be  considered till completion   of 5  years  of joining   Railway.

(xii)      Deputation    of  Railway   Officers   will  be  governed   by  DOP&T’s    guidelines as   adopted    by   Ministry    of   Railways    vide   letter   N o.201 O/F(E)II/1  (1 )/1  dated 28.07.2010.

(xiii)    Transfers  other than those caused due to promotion,  deputation/return from deputation,   retirements   etc.  will  be  generally  issued  from  January  to  March. However,  in administrative  exigencies, transfer orders may be issued as and when required.

(xiv)    The  controlling  officer  will  ensure  that  the  officer  transferred  will  be relieved within a maximum period of one month.

(xv)     A   government  servant who is also a care giver of disabled child may be exempted from the routine exercise of transfer/rotational transfer subject to administrative constraints as per OM No.42011/3/2014-Estt.(Rs.)  dated 6.6.2014

(xvi)    Every effort will be made to post the husband and wife at the same station as detailed in DOP&T’s  Circular No. F.No.28034/9/2009-Estt(A)  dated 30th September 2009.

(xvii)   All fresh transfer orders will be governed by this policy.

(xviii)  In  future,  requests  for inter railway  transfers  from  officers  will  be done online for which a system will be developed separately and circulated.


Joint Secretary (Gazetted) Railway Board

Download Ministry of Railways No.E(O)III/2014/PL/05 dated  31.08.2015

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *