LTC to SAARC Countries – Minister’s reply in the Parliament

LTC to SAARC Countries (Nepal, Bhutan, Maldives and Srilanka) – Minister’s reply in Parliament – Proposal is in initial stage

It was reported in news papers recently that Civil Aviation Ministry had given nod to allow LTC to neighbouring SAARC Countries (Nepal, Bhutan, Maldive and Srilanka).

Click here to read Previous Article : LTC to Nepal, Bhutan, Maldives and Srilanka – Proposal Approved

In this regard, Minister of State for PMO Dr. Jitendra Singh has now clarified that proposal to allow LTC to Government Employees to visit SAARC Countries is at intitial Stage of Consideration and that Govt presently allow LTC to places such as NER, J&K and Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

The text of Minister’s reply regarding LTC to SAARC Countries is as follows

Press Information Bureau

Government of India

Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions

11-March-2015 17:37 IST

LTC to Some Countries


A proposal to provide Leave Travel Concession (LTC) to Government employees to visit some SAARC countries is in its initial stage of consideration. The details are yet to be finalized.
The purpose behind the proposal is to enhance people-to-people contact and bilateral ties in the SAARC region through increase in tourism in the region.

As per the Government’s order dated 26.09.2014, the Government has extended the facility of conversion of home town LTC to visit the states in the North East Region, Jammu & Kashmir and the UT of Andaman & Nicobar Islands for a period of two years up to 25.09.2016. This facility was first introduced in the year 2008.

Presently, no other proposal is under consideration for including more places under the conversion of Home Town LTC to anywhere in the country.

This was stated by the Minister of State for Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions and Minister of State in Prime Minister’s office Dr. Jitendra Singh in a written reply to a question by Shri M. Raja Mohan Reddy in the Lok Sabha today
Source: PIB

You might also like