State Government Holidays 2020 for offices in Kerala

Disbursement of Salary/Pension to CG Employees / Pensioner working in the State of Kerala

Public Holidays for the state government offices and banks under Negotiable Instruments Act in Kerala for the year 2020


General Administration (Co-ordination) Department


G. O. (P) No. 18/2019/GAD.

Dated. Thiruvananthapuram, 2nd November, 2019.

Under the explanation to Section 25 of the Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881 (Central Act 26 of 1881) read with the Notification of the Government of India, Ministry of Home Affairs No. 20/25/56/Pub-1 dated 8th June, 1957, the Government of Kerala are hereby pleased to declare that in addition to Sundays, expressly defined as Public Holidays in the said explanation. the following days shall be Public Holidays Under Negotiable Instruments Act in Kerala for the Calendar year 2020.

Sl.No Public Holidays Date Day
1. Sivarathri 21.02.2020 Friday
2. Annual closing of Accounts for Commercial Banks & Co-operative Banks 01.04.2020 Wednesday
3. Good Friday 10.04.2020 Friday
4. Vishu/ Dr. B. R Ambedkar Jayanthi 14.04.2020 Tuesday
5. May Day 01.05.2020 Friday
6. Bakrld* 31.07.2020 Friday
7. Independence Day 15.08.2020 Saturday
8. Thiruvonam 31.08.2020 Monday
9. Sree Narayana Guru Jayanthi 02.09.2020 Wednesday
10. Sree Narayana Guru Samadhi Day 21.09.2020 Monday
11. Gandhi Jayanthi 02.10.2020 Friday
12. Mahanavami 24.10.2020 Saturday
13. Vijaya Dasami 26.10.2020 Monday
14. Milad-i-Sherif*(Birthday of Prophet Muhammed) 29.10.2020 Thursday
15. Christmas 25.12.2020 Friday


The following Festivals/Occasions which fall on Public Holidays (Second Saturday/ Sundays) have been excluded from the above list. The branches of Banks, which work on those days will observe Holiday for the same days.

1 Republic  Day Sunday 26-1-2020
2 Easter Sunday 12-4-2020
3 ldul-Fitr”(Ramzan) Sunday 24-5-2020
4 First Onam Sunday 30-8-2020
5 Deepavali Second Saturday 14-11-2020


The holidays to the Institutions coming under Labour Law-Industrial Disputes Act, Shops and Commercial Establishment Act, Minimum Wages Act etc., will be governed by the Kerala Industrial Establishments (National and Festival Holidays) Act, 1958.

By order of the Governor,

Principal Secretary to Government.

Read / Download State Government Holidays 2020 for offices in Kerala