Kerala State Public Holiday List 2015

The Government of Kerala has announced the public holidays for the year 2015 for the state of Kerala.


Kerala Public Holiday List 2015

General Administration (Co-ordination) Department


G.O.(P) No.305/2014/GAD

Dated, Thiruvananthapuram, 31-10-2014

Under the explanation to Section 25 of the Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881 (Central Act 26 of 1881) read with the Notification of the Government of India, Ministry of Home Affairs No. 20/25/56/Pub-1 dated 8th June 1957, the Government of Kerala are hereby pleased to declare that in addition to Sundays, expressly defined as Public Holidays in the said explanation, the following days shall be Public Holidays Under N.I. Act in Kerala for the Calendar year 2015.

No Name of Holidays Days of Week Date
1 Milad – I-Sherif *(Birthday of prophet Muhammed) Saturday 03-01-2015
2 Republic Day Monday 26-01-2015
3 Sivarathri Tuesday 17-02-2015
4 Annual Closing of Accounts of commercial and co-operative Banks Wednesday 01-04-2015
5 Good Friday Friday 03-04-2015
6 Dr.B.R.Ambedkar Jayanthi Tuesday 14-04-2015
7 Vishu Wednesday 15-04-2015
8 May Day Friday 01-05-2015
9 Id-Ul-Fitr (Ramzan) Saturday 18-07-2015
10 Independence Day Saturday 15-08-2015
11 Firs Onam Thursday 27-08-2015
12 Thiruvonam Friday 28-08-2015
13 Sree Narayana Guru Samadhi Day Monday 21-09-2015
14 Id-Ul-Adha (Bakrid) Thursday 24-09-2015
15 Gandhi Jayanthi Friday 02-10-2015
16 Mahanavami Thursday 22-10-2015
17 Vijayadasami Friday 23-10-2015
18 Deepavali Tuesday 10-11-2015
19 Christmas Friday 25-12-2015


The following festivals/Occasions which fall on Public Holidays (Sundays) have been excluded from the above list. The branches of Banks, which work on Sunday, will observe Holiday for the same days.

  1. Easter Sunday 05-04-20.15
  2. Sree Narayana Guru Jayanthi Sunday 30-08-2015

*Subject to change depending on the sighting of the moon.

The holidays to the Institutions coming under Industrial Disputes Act, Labour Law, Shops and Commercial Establishment Act etc.. will be governed by the Kerala Industrial Establishments (National and Festival Holidays) Act-1958.

By order of the Governor,
Secretary to Government

Download Kerala Public Holiday List 2015

You might also like